TL;DR: Plenty of brands say "organic cotton." Far fewer hold GOTS, and only a handful apply it to clothes you actually train in. Of the brands scored here, Wayve leads at 16/20, Nero at 15 and Ryker at 14. Q for Quinn scores 14 but makes base layers, not activewear.
Disclosure: Wayve wrote this ranking and comes out first. The scoring rules were published before any ranking used them, and every score links to the brand's own page.
What GOTS certification actually covers
GOTS certifies that a garment contains certified organic natural fiber and that every processing stage — from field to finished garment — met environmental and social criteria.
Two grades, and brands rarely specify which they hold:
| Grade | Requirement |
|---|---|
| "Organic" | At least 95% certified organic fiber |
| "Made with organic" | At least 70% certified organic fiber |
Both carry the GOTS name. They are not the same claim, and the gap between them is 25% of the garment.
What GOTS 7.0 prohibits at every processing stage: PFAS as a chemical input, including PFAS-based repellency finishes. Also formaldehyde, azo dyes that release carcinogenic amines, chlorine bleach and heavy metals. It additionally sets wastewater treatment standards and social criteria covering wages and working conditions.
What GOTS does not cover: the chemistry of the finished article in the way OEKO-TEX Standard 100 does, and it doesn't apply to wool the way it applies to cotton — wool has its own standard in RWS. A brand claiming GOTS on a 100% merino product has made a mistake.
Quick comparison
| Brand | Purity | Chem. Safety | Spec Transp. | Nat. Perf. | Total | GOTS grade stated? | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayve | 4 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 16/20 | 100% organic cotton | Training shorts |
| Nero | 4 | 4 | 3 | 4 | 15/20 | Not stated | Certification depth |
| Ryker | 4 | 4 | 2 | 4 | 14/20 | Not stated | Published lab testing |
| Q for Quinn | 4 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 14/20 | Licence # published | Base layers |
| PuraKai | 3 | 5 | 3 | 2 | 13/20 | Not stated | US manufacturing |
| Pact | 4 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 12/20 | Not stated | Budget basics |
| Organic Basics | 3 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 11/20 | Not stated | Cotton underwear |
| Outerknown | 3 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 11/20 | Not stated | Denim and outerwear |
1. Wayve — 16/20 — Best for training shorts
Price: $45–$188 · Materials: GOTS-certified organic cotton, merino wool
Certifications: GOTS, OEKO-TEX Standard 100, RWS
Hero product: Quad Short, $90 — 290GSM brushed terry organic cotton shell, 165GSM merino jersey liner, 4" shell / 6" liner, zip side pockets
Wayve's cotton products use 100% organic cotton — the "organic" grade rather than "made with organic," which most brands don't specify. The Quad Short pairs that shell with a merino liner so performance comes from the fiber rather than a finish: merino handles odor, temperature regulation and natural mechanical stretch.
What we like: The only brand here publishing fabric weight for both layers and naming the construction. Only one with zippered side pockets. Every trim is cotton — drawstring, tag and care label — where most brands use printed polyester. 5/5 on performance engineering.
What to know: Independent chemical testing with Eurofins is in progress and scored as zero until public, holding Chemical Safety at 3/5. Merino needs cold washing and hang drying.
2. Nero — 15/20 · 3. Ryker — 14/20 · 4. Q for Quinn — 14/20
Nero runs the same construction at the same price with the deepest certification stack here — GOTS, RWS, Woolmark, WRAP and OEKO-TEX Made in Green, which requires STeP-certified facilities on top of Standard 100. Cotton from Turkey, merino from RWS farms in New Zealand and Australia. No fabric weight published.
Ryker publishes a downloadable Hohenstein BPA test under OEKO-TEX Standard 100. Every mill and manufacturer they work with is GOTS and OEKO-TEX Standard 100 Class 1 certified. Lightest published specs of the top four; $99.
Q for Quinn is the only brand in this list publishing its GOTS licence number in full — Ecocert Greenlife, Licence #256894 — with the certifying body named. That's the standard everyone should be held to. Base layers, socks and underwear rather than training apparel.
5–8. PuraKai, Pact, Organic Basics, Outerknown
PuraKai publishes an independent PFAS lab report in full, with the lab named and dated — the best evidence practice in the category and a perfect 5/5 on Chemical Safety. But 8% spandex runs through the body fabric, not just the waistband.
Pact is the best-value GOTS-certified organic cotton available, plus Fair Trade certification. Basics rather than training apparel.
Organic Basics holds GOTS on its cotton line. Its actual activewear line is a different product: recycled nylon with elastane and a silver-based antimicrobial treatment. Good underwear, not a GOTS activewear pick.
Outerknown holds GOTS and Fair Trade with some Regenerative Organic Certified cotton. Excellent denim and outerwear; not built for training.
How to verify a GOTS claim in 30 seconds
- Ask for the certificate number and the grade — "organic" (95%) or "made with organic" (70%).
- Search the public GOTS database at global-standard.org by certificate number or company name.
- Check the scope on the certificate. It names which products and processes are covered.
Certificates are normally held by the mill or manufacturer rather than the brand — that's standard across the industry, and it's why the accurate phrasing is "made with GOTS-certified organic cotton."
Where to start
If you want GOTS-certified organic cotton in something you can actually train in, start with the Wayve Quad Short — $90. 290GSM organic cotton shell, 165GSM merino liner, zip side pockets, no chemical finishes.
More casual? The Classic Short is $55. Need a tee? The Only Tee is $45 at 240GSM. Shop all men's shorts.
FAQ
What does GOTS-certified clothing mean?
It means the garment contains certified organic natural fiber and that every processing stage from raw fiber to finished garment met GOTS environmental and social criteria — including a ban on PFAS, formaldehyde, azo dyes and chlorine bleach as chemical inputs.
What's the difference between GOTS and OEKO-TEX?
GOTS certifies the fiber is organic and the supply chain was audited. OEKO-TEX Standard 100 tests the finished article against a list of over 1,000 harmful substances. They answer different questions, and for activewear worn against skin you want both.
How do I verify a brand is genuinely GOTS certified?
Ask for the certificate number and look it up in the free public GOTS database. A brand that names the standard but won't give the number has told you something.
Can a brand claim GOTS on some products but not others?
Yes, and many do. Certification covers specific products and processes listed in the certificate's scope. A brand with one GOTS-certified tee is not a GOTS-certified brand.
Is organic cotton the same as GOTS-certified cotton?
No. "Organic cotton" describes how the fiber was grown. GOTS additionally certifies every processing stage afterward — the dyeing, finishing and manufacturing. That's the part where most of the chemistry happens.
Does GOTS apply to wool?
Not in the way it applies to cotton. Wool's equivalent is the Responsible Wool Standard, which covers animal welfare and land management. A brand claiming GOTS on a 100% merino garment has it wrong.